Overview

Yuan Ze University, established in 1989 through a private endowment fund given by Mr. Yu-Ziang Hsu, the founder of the FarEastern group, is one of the fastest-growing universities in Taiwan. After 28 remarkable years, YZU has become a first-choice private university for students and an internationally recognized institution that invests a great amount of efforts into fostering excellence in scholarship and teaching, engaging in activities and services to enrich the community, and improving our lives through research and discovery. The University envisioning the importance of information technologies to the rapid changing world established the Department of Computer Science and Engineering in its founding year, and subsequently the Department of Information Management and Department of Information Communication. In 1995, it established the College of Informatics, the first one in this country. In 2017, it started this English-taught program that aims to foster internationally competitive professionals.

Feature

This program aims to cultivate highly competitive students who can take lead among information technology professionals. This program provides English-taught courses so that students will equip with good communication skills in English before they enter global job market. English as a global language serves a very important role in knowledge dissemination and social communication. Doubtlessly, information technology professionals who have a good command of English will have an edge over their competitors. They will take an influential job position in a global team and make significant contributions. Computer Science and Engineering discipline itself has an advantage over many other disciplines. It renders a professional the power of realizing innovative ideas and fusing with other disciplines. This is so-called Computer Science + X, where X can be mechanical engineering, electronics, art, finance, management, etc. The important point is the plus sign and the great extent of X. English enables penetration of Computer Science and reinforces the synergy between Computer Science discipline itself and X.

Core competence of Computer Science + X + English = Global Competitiveness

Curriculum

Students in this program should establish a solid core competence in computer science and engineering. This program provides more than 70 credits of English-taught courses. Among them, computer science core courses take 48 credits, selective required courses take 18 credits, and general educational courses take 10 credits. At the same time, students require taking two courses: "Oral English Communication" and "Practical English Writing", to strengthen their oral and written communication skills. This program also sets aside 25 elective credits for students to carry out exploratory studies. Among these credits, 13 credits can be obtained from the courses offered by other colleges. This makes Computer Science + X possible. This program also requires students to take a yearlong practical training (job internship) in the industry or conduct a yearlong special project in the university. This will help our students locate a decent job right after graduation. Students must obtain at least 12 credits from practical training. They can obtain up to 32 credits for practical training in a foreign country. This program also implements a flexible course substitution system to encourage students going for a foreign exchange study. Our students can freely take courses interesting to them or courses not offered by our program. This will help our students to complete their studies without delay.

International Exchange

Studying abroad is a key to widening students' global perspective and strengthening their global competitiveness. In addition to a short-term foreign visit, we encourage students to participate in a long-term exchange and a dual-degree program provided by a cooperated university. Our staff will help students apply for financial assistance provided by the university itself, government, other organizations, etc. so that studying abroad is no longer just a hard-to-realized dream.

  • Some cooperated universities for exchange program

California State University, Sacramento

Linkoping University, Sweden

Western Sydney University, Australia

EFREI, France

For other universities:

https://www.yzu.edu.tw/admin/oia/index.php/en-us/international-coorperation 

For cooperated universities in Mainland China:

https://www.yzu.edu.tw/admin/oia/index.php/en-us/international-coorperation/mainland-china

  • Some cooperated universities for dual degree program:

Linkoping University, Sweden

For other universities:        

https://www.yzu.edu.tw/admin/oia/index.php/en-us/international-coorperation/dual-degree

Career Development

Students graduated from this program, if pursuing an advanced degree, will mostly enter top-ranked universities (including Yuan Ze) in Taiwan. They will certainly have more opportunities to enter a graduate school in a good foreign university. We believe that our multi-disciplinary trained students capable of communicating in English will be able to compete, cooperate and succeed in their professions. Their professions are more likely in computer and networking system hardware and software development, database designs, big data analytics, internet of things, computer security, multimedia system, digital contents, etc. They will more likely work for international enterprises such IBM, Microsoft, Google, Facebook, Apple, Intel, Oracle, Cisco, ARM, etc. and large domestic companies such as HTC, Acer, Asus, Delta, TSMC, Quanta, Hon Hai Precision, Compal, MediaTek, Novatek, Realtek, Global Unichip, Faraday, UMC, Trend Micro, CyberLink, Advantek, etc.

Admission for International Students

Prospective international students should submit application forms directly to the Office of International Affairs or refer to http://www.yzu.edu.tw/admin/oia for on-line admission application. The projected cost (including tuition & fees, room and board, and other living expenses) for 2012-15 is about US$9,000. Financial assistance and scholarships are available for international graduate students including fellowships, grants, teaching and research assistantships depending on their qualification. To obtain the latest information on scholarships, please refer to http://www.yzu.edu.tw/admin/oia. Limited on-campus housing units are also available for international students.

學程簡介

英語學程簡報 英語學程單頁海報

元智大學於1989年由遠東企業集團總裁徐有庠先生,於事業有成之後,為追懷親恩及「回饋社會、培育人才」,捐助創辦。經過二十多年的努力,國際學術聲望卓著,是青年學子就讀的最佳選擇。學校創立伊始即成立資訊工程學系,之後陸續成立資訊管理學系與資訊傳播學系,並於1995年成立國內第一所資訊學院。鑒於資訊科技之發展快速與其影響之深遠,元智大學更於2017年往前邁進成立「資訊學院英語學士學位學程」,戮力於培養具備國際競爭力之資訊專業人才。

學程特色

本學程之特色在於以英語來講授資訊專業課程,讓學生沉浸在一個國際化學習環境中,培養具備國際競爭力之資訊專業人才。英語作為全球化的語言,在知識傳播與人際溝通上扮演一個非常重要的角色,一個資訊專業人才要具有英語的能力才能不斷的成長,才能與國際接軌並於一個國際團隊中位居要職,做出貢獻。本學程得天獨厚的優勢在於養成資訊專業能力,資訊專業能力賦予學生實踐創意的力量,賦予與它業結合的能力,這就是所謂的「資訊 + X」,X可以是機械、電子、藝術、財經、管理等等,重要的是這個加號與X的廣度,而英語讓資訊專業壯大擴散並強化資訊專業與X的結合。因此,本學程的特色可以用下圖與式子來呈現。

資訊核心專業能力 + X + 英語 = 國際職場競爭力
學程特色

課程設計

本學程課程規劃著重於建立基礎資訊核心能力,至少70學分的課程是以英語授課,其中48學分為資訊專業核心課程,18學分為專業必選修課程,以及10學分之通識課程。同時要求必修「口語英文溝通」及「實用英文寫作」來加強學生口頭與書面溝通能力。另外尚有25專業選修學分,提供學生自我探索學習的空間,學生可依個人興趣選擇培養資工、資管、資傳之(單一或多個)專長,且可以修習多達13學分資訊學院以外之跨域課程,以培養「資訊 +  X」的能力。本學程同時規劃校外專業實習與校內專題製作課程來縮小產學落差,校外專業實習至少要修畢12學分,學生前往國外專業實習可取得多達32學分。同時為鼓勵學生到國外交換學習,特訂定彈性的課程抵修規則,讓學生於合作的學校依個人興趣選修與本學程相關的課程,避免學生因至國外交換學習而延宕完成學業的時間。

國際交流

前往海外交流是拓展國際視野與提升學生國際競爭力最有效方法之一,除短期國外交流學習與移地教學外,本學程特別重視長期國外交換、雙聯學位攻讀、國外專業實習。設有專人輔導學生爭取校內、校外、政府各部門所提供的獎助學金,讓出國學習不再只是一個夢。

  • 交換學校(列舉)

       California State University, Sacramento

       Linkoping University, Sweden

       Western Sydney University, Australia  

       EFREI, France

       其他學校請參閱:https://www.yzu.edu.tw/admin/oia/index.php/tw/2017-04-27-05-45-44

  中國大陸各大學請參閱:

  https://www.yzu.edu.tw/admin/oia/index.php/tw/2016-03-16-03-18-33

  • 雙聯學校(列舉)

       Linkoping University, Sweden

       其他請參閱:
     https://www.yzu.edu.tw/admin/oia/index.php/tw/2016-03-28-06-56-44/2017-04-27-05-29-54

生涯發展

本學程畢業生若繼續升學,相信絕大多數能進入國內一流大學(包含元智)之碩、博士班,若出國留學,也相信能進入理想的學府。若就業,必能於資訊電子專業領域以及各行各業中有傑出的表現。學生畢業後可從事之職業相當寬廣,例如: 電腦軟硬體設計、晶片設計、網路及通訊相關軟硬體設計及整合、資料庫系統設計、大數據分析、物聯網系統開發、資訊安全、多媒體系統開發、數位內容、生物科技及資訊應用系統開發與行銷、資訊系統管理與維護、網際網路應用服務、行動資訊服務、網路服務管理、電子商務、專業規劃與管理等。畢業生的雇主可能是IBM、微軟,蘋果、谷歌、臉書、英特爾、甲骨文、安謀、思科等國外知名企業; 在國內的潛在雇主可能是宏達電、宏碁、華碩、廣達、仁寶、鴻海、聯發科、聯詠、瑞昱、創意,智原,台積電、聯電、台達電、趨勢、訊連、研華等科技公司。

招生

27位學士班新生,並招收一些國際學生,國內招生有三管道:    

  • 繁星入學甄選: 名額4位。
  • 申請入學: 名額17位。
  • 指定考試分發: 名額6位。